Mercedes Plans to Race Mille Miglia

Posted on by  

Mille Miglia (or Thousand Miles) was an open-road endurance race, which took place in Italy between 1927 and 1957. During this period, a total of 56 people were killed, and after two fatal crashes that took place in 1957, the race was banned. Now, Mille Miglia is a road rally that takes play each May in Italy on the historic roads from Brescia to Rome and back to Brescia.

Each year, only 375 vehicles are allowed to enter the race and they usually come from Italian makers, like Ferrari and Alfa Romeo. This year however, Mercedes is also planning to enter the race with quite an impressive lineup: a 1928 SSK , a pair of 300 SL s, the 1955 300 SLR and a 1954 220. Behind the wheel will be former F1 driver and brand ambassador, David Coulthard, F1 safety car driver, Bernd Maylander, and old-time racers, Jochen Mass and Karl Wendlinger.

Mercedes made its first appearance in the Mille Miglia in 1931, when it won the race with an SSK , and then obtained another victory in 1955 with a 300 SLR driven by Stirling Moss.

Click past the jump to learn more about Mille Miglia.

Source: CarBuzz

About the Mercedes 300 SLR

Mercedes Plans to Race Mille Miglia

The 300 SLR was unveiled in 1955 as a race version of the 1954 300SL (W198) Gullwing road car. It was raced in competitions, like 24 Hours of Nürburgring and 24 Hours of Le Mans. The car was powered by a 3.0-liter engine that produced 215 horsepower and 203 pound-feet of torque.

This engine mated up with a four-speed manual transmission and launched the car from 0 to 60 mph in 8.8 seconds and a top speed of 130 mph.

Mille Miglia winners

1957Piero TaruffiFerrari 315 Sport
1956Eugenio CastellottiFerrari 290 MM Spider Scaglietti
1955Stirling MossMercedes-Benz 300 SLR
1954Alberto AscariLancia D24 Spider
1953Giannino Marzotto, Marco CrosaraFerrari 340 MM Spider Vignale
1952Giovanni Bracco, Alfonso RolfoFerrari 250 S Berlinetta Vignale
1951Luigi Villoresi, Pasquale CassaniFerrari 340 America Berlinetta Vignale
1950Giannino Marzotto, Marco CrosaraFerrari 195 S Berlinetta Touring
1949Clemente Biondetti, Ettore SalaniFerrari 166 MM Barchetta Touring
1948Clemente Biondetti, Giuseppe NavoneFerrari 166 S Coupe Allemano
1947Clemente Biondetti, Emilio RomanoAlfa Romeo 8C 2900 B Berlinetta Touring
1940Huschke von Hanstein, Walter BaumerBMW 328 Berlinetta Touring
1938Clemente Biondetti, Aldo StefaniAlfa Romeo 8C 2900B Spider MM Touring
1937Carlo Maria Pintacuda, Paride MambelliAlfa Romeo 8C 2900A
1936Antonio Brivio, Carlo OngaroAlfa Romeo 8C 2900A
1935Carlo Maria Pintacuda, Alessandro Della StufaAlfa Romeo 8C 2900 Tipo B
1934Achille Varzi, Amedeo BignamiAlfa Romeo 8C 2600 Monza Spider Brianza
1933Tazio Nuvolari,Decimo CompagnoniAlfa Romeo 8C 2300 Spider Zagato
1932Baconin Borzacchini, Amedeo BignamiAlfa Romeo 8C 2300 Spider Touring
1931Rudolf Caracciola, Wilhelm SebastianMercedes-Benz SSK
1930Tazio Nuvolari, Battista GuidottiAlfa Romeo 6C 1750 GS Spider Zagato
1929Giuseppe Campari, Giulio RamponiAlfa Romeo 6C 1750 SS Spider Zagato
1928Giuseppe Campari, Giulio RamponiAlfa Romeo 6C 1500 Sport Spider Zagato
1927Ferdinando Minoia, Giuseppe MorandiOM 665 S

What is your take?

Back to top