The European Car of the Year Award is given annually by a group of European automobile and and general interest magazines, including Auto, Autocar, L’Automobile, Stern, Vi Bilagare, and Autopista and Autvisie, representing the major European countries. 

The judging is done by a panel of 58 “senior motoring journalists” from 22 countries in Europe. Representation on the panel reflects the size of the new car market in the respective countries. 

The object is to select the “most outstanding new car to go on sale in the preceding 12 months. 
This years candidates have been announced. They are:

  • Audi A5/S5
  • BMW X5
  • Chrysler Sebring
  • Citroën C-Crosser/Mitsubishi Outlander/Peugeot 4007
  • Daihatsu Materia
  • Dodge Nitro
  • Fiat 500
  • Fiat Bravo
  • Ford Mondeo
  • Honda CR-V
  • Hyundai i30
  • Jeep Patriot
  • Jeep Wrangler
  • Kia cee’d
  • Land Rover Freelander 2
  • Lexus LS460/600h
  • Mazda2
  • Mazda CX7
  • Mercedes C-Class
  • Nissan Qashqai
  • Nissan X-Trail
  • Opel Antara
  • Peugeot 308
  • Renault Laguna
  • Renault Twingo II
  • SsangYong Actyon
  • Skoda Fabia
  • Smart ForTwo
  • Subaru Impreza
  • Toyota Auris/Corolla
  • Volkswagen Tiguan
  • Volvo V70/XC70

One car will ultimately be selected as the European Car of the Year. The winner will be announced on November 19th and the award ceremony will be held in Hamburg, Germany in January.

What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: