NJ Officials pass Kyleigh’s law: Drivers under 21 to affix red stickers on license plates.
New Jersey officials decided to require drivers under the age of 21 to affix red stickers on their front and rear license plates. This law comes after a teenage driver, by the name of Kyleigh, was killed by another teenage driver while operating a motor vehicle. The law states that the red sticker needs to placed in the upper left hand corner of the license plate while the teenage driver is driving. The red sticker can be removed when an older person is driving and can also be transferred if the teenage driver is given the option of driving a different car. Of course, who’s to say that anyone will even remember to remove or affix the red sticker when they are supposed to?
This situation has brought on much controversy since the law was signed last year. Attorney Gregg Trautmann has said that the red sticker is equivalent to tagging teenagers with a scarlet letter for age discrimination and can make them a target for police and sex offenders while Raymond Martinez, who runs the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, called the law "one of the most significant steps forward in teen driver safety."
The red stickers can be purchased at motor vehicle agencies and cost $4.00. Sales will begin April 12, 2010 and the law will begin May 1, 2010. And for all the teenagers that think they can just take the red sticker off if you plan on driving after 11pm, beware. This action will cost you $100.00 if you get caught. Wait, doesn’t that bring us to the original reason the red stickers were being enforced? Legislators wanted to make teenage drivers “stick out” so they can be caught driving after 11pm. This just seems like a vicious cycle of idiocy, but (insert sarcasm here) at least the New Jersey government will be making money off of it.
Source: New Jersey Real-Time News