Mike’s Peak – the off-road version of Pike’s Peak

The Pike’s Peak Hill Climb is a long-standing event that attracted droves of racers who fought for the fastest time up the 12.42-mile road with 156 turns climbing 4,720 feet into the Colorado sky. Sadly the hill climb has been losing participants since the course became fully paved in 2012. But it’s not all bad news for dirt-loving racers.

A new hill climb in Baja California, Mexico is on the horizon. And every inch of its 19 miles and 4,000 feet climb in elevation is all dirt.

The inaugural Mike’s Peak Hill Climb is set for October 13 through 16, 2016 and already has the attention of big-time off-roading names. One of them is RPM Off-Road team. Its lead driver is Apdaly Lopez, the 2015 Baja 500 winner and 2014 X-Games Gold medalists in Stadium SUPER Trucks. Joining the Bristol, Tennessee-based team are Justin Matney, Lalo Laguna, Juan Carlos Lopez, and Clyde Stacy.

Matney is the 2016 Parker 425 winner, while Laguna has the winning trophy from the 2015 Baja Sur. Needless to say, RPM has a decent driver list. Apdaly, Justin, and Lalo will be piloting trucks in the unlimited class, while the long-time off-road racing supporter Stacy will drive a 1450 truck.

The inaugural run of Mike’s Peak will only host 144 driver entries. Classes range from full-on unlimited trucks to quads, motorcycles, UTVs, and cars.

Continue reading for more information.

Why It Matters

RPM Will Enter Five Trucks In Mike's Peak Hill Climb Challenge
- image 683192

Though Pike’s Peak is what made hill climbs popular, the decision by the Colorado highway department to pave the road essentially took the race’s thrill away – or so they say. The move to Mike’s Peak restores the unpredictability of a dirt road hill climb and opens up the allowable vehicle classes to beefier contenders. What’s more, Mike’s Peak won’t be paved anytime soon. It’s in the middle of the Mexican desert.

Press Release

Entries are now open, and 26 of the 144 spots for the inaugural Mike’s Peak Hill Climb Challenge have already been filled. The event takes place October 13-16, at the legendary Mike’s Sky Rancho in Baja California, Mexico.

The Off-road powerhouse team of RPM Off-Road of Bristol, Tenn., has entered five-vehicles to tackle the 31 km route, climbing the 4,000 foot ascent to the top of “Mike’s Peak” through multiple cattle guards and water crossings.

Headlining the entrants for the RPM team will be the 2015 SCORE Champion and the 2015 Baja 500 winner Apdaly Lopez of Tecate, Baja California. Proving he is ultra quick in the desert, Lopez will take the No. 1 unlimited truck up the hill in the quest to be the fastest. In addition to the SCORE championship, Apdaly Lopez is also the 2014 X-Games Gold medalist in the Stadium SUPER Trucks.

Joining Lopez will be the 2016 Parker 425 winner Justin Matney of Bristol, Tenn. and 2015 Baja Sur Winner Lalo Laguna of Mexicali, Baja California both fielding unlimited trucks.

“To have this caliber of drivers RPM is bringing to Mike’s, just shows the significance of this first-time event,” said SST series founder, Robby Gordon. “As more and more premiere drivers and teams enter, Mike’s Peaksurely will be the event everyone from the short course, desert, rally, UTV, quads and motorcycles will want to be apart of.”

Also joining the RPM team will be veteran off-road competitor Juan Carlos Lopez of Tecate, Baja California with an unlimited entry, and long-time off-road racing supporter Clyde Stacy in a 1450 truck.

With only 144 entrants available to be part of history, registration continues to fill up. Will you be the first to Mike’s?

View the full press release Hide press release
Press release
What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: