It stands for "Go Over Any Type of Terrain" and comprises of different selectable drive modes

The Bronco has lit up the automotive scene in more ways than even Ford would’ve imagined. The off-roader is filled with features that enthusiasts have been asking automakers for all along. One exciting feature that Ford has introduced on the Bronco is the cleverly named GOAT mode. This is essentially the Bronco’s driving modes that make it a capable off-roader. So, what are these drive modes?

What Is The GOAT Mode?

What is the 2021 Ford Bronco's GOAT System? Exterior
- image 919856

The Ford Bronco’s GOAT mode comprises of eight different driver-selectable driving modes. This has surfaced the internet before the Bronco’s launch as well. A trademark application regarding this was leaked and Ford had filed it for the "drive systems comprised of automatic controls for vehicle chassis and powertrain controllers, integrated as an integral part of a passenger vehicle." The first-gen Ford Bronco was nicknamed the GOAT (Goes Over Any Terrain), so it’s nice to see Ford reuse such terms to connect with the customers based on nostalgia.

What is the 2021 Ford Bronco's GOAT System? Exterior Wallpaper quality High Resolution
- image 919917

In the latest Bronco also, it stands for a similar full-form - "Go Over Any Type of Terrain". It comprises of eight drive modes:

  • Normal
  • Eco
  • Sport
  • Slippery
  • Sand
  • Baja
  • Mud/Ruts
  • Rock Crawl

The last three are specially dedicated for off-roading.

The Rock Crawl will be the most useful one, in my opinion, especially to novice off-roaders, as it would get the onboard computers to work and take real-time decisions about disconnecting the front sway bar, disengaging the traction control, or locking the differentials, and so on.

You can also control them manually, but it’s still nice to have a specially dedicated button in place.

Is The GOAT Mode Standard On The Bronco?

What is the 2021 Ford Bronco's GOAT System? Exterior
- image 919860

Well, yes and no. The Bronco will be available in six different guises (Plus the First Edition) and the GOAT mode will come on all of them but with limitations in a few:

Base Five out of eight GOAT modes
Big Bend Six out of eight GOAT modes
Black Diamond Seven out of eight GOAT modes
Outer Banks Six out of eight GOAT modes
Wildtrak Seven out of eight GOAT modes (without Rock Crawl)
Badlands All the eight GOAT modes
First Edition All the eight GOAT modes

Final Thoughts

What is the 2021 Ford Bronco's GOAT System? Exterior
- image 919859

The GOAT acronym generally stands for “Greatest Of All Time” and it doesn’t feel out of place on the Bronco. Ford has revived one of the most loved nomenclatures in automotive history and it’s nice to see that it has done justice to it. Ford has gotten almost everything right this time around and it’ll be interesting to see how long it can carry on with this Midas touch. I mean, a rather common drive selector has managed to garner so much attention! That itself speaks volumes of how hyped the Bronco is right now. We’ll have to wait and watch how these perform in the real world.

Sidd Dhimaan
Associate Editor and Truck Expert -
Sidd joined the team in 2017 as an intern and in less than a year he earned a full-time position as an associate editor and junior automotive expert. He is currently our pickup truck expert and focuses his attention on heavy-duty and off-road vehicles.  Read More
About the author

Related Articles

Ford Bronco vs. Jeep Wrangler

2021 Ford Bronco by Saleen

2021 6 Things Automakers Could Learn From the 2021 Ford Bronco

2021 Ford’s Revealing of the 2021 Bronco Just Proved that GM Has No Idea What It’s Doing

2021 The Ford Bronco’s Door Storage Solution Sets the Standard for Off-Road Vehicles

2021 2021 Ford Bronco and Bronco Sport Reservation and Buyer’s Guide

What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: