For the third consecutive year, Casey Stoner won the Australian GP held at Phillip Island. Arriving 2 seconds behind the Ducati Marlboro Team rider, Valentino Rossi occupied second place, while Dani Pedrosa came in third. With Jorge Lorenzo out, Rossi now managed to set itself 38 points ahead of his teammate in the championship.


2009 Australian MotoGP race results:

1. Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Team 40min 56.651 sec
2. Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Team 40min 58.586 sec
3. Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 41min 19.269 sec
4. Alex de Angelis San Carlo Honda Gresini 41min 29.353 sec
5. Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 3 41min 32.536 sec
6. Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Team 41min 35.133 sec
7. Marco Melandri Hayate Racing Team 41min 41.112 sec
8. Randy de Puniet LCR Honda MotoGP 41min 41.592 sec
9. Mika Kallio Pramac Racing 41min 50.996 sec
10. Toni Elias San Carlo Honda Gresini 41min 57.856 sec
11. Chris Vermeulen Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 42min 2.068 sec
12. Loris Capirossi Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 42min 2.601 sec
13. Gabor Talmacsi Scot Racing Team MotoGP 42min 14.602 sec
14. James Toseland Monster Yamaha Tech 3 42min 14.636 sec
15. Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Team 41min 27.127 sec

Jorge Lorenzo Fiat Yamaha Team

Source: motogp

What do you think?
Show Comments


Rod  (825) posted on 10.23.2009

I knew Casey was gonna win and I like his Ducati edition too.
It was hard to pass casey so Rossi did good to get second while Lorenzo give Rossi the tittle for making that crash not only that but I feel sorry for Nicky Hayden this is the third time that some one crash on him.

Motorcycle Finder: