Dani Pedrosa obtained a well-deserved victory at Mazda Raceways Laguna Seca this weekend, after more than a year away from the highest position of the podium. He managed to keep Valentino Rossi behind while ’the doctor’ was about to pass him on the last straight. A few more laps and Rossi could have take the win. A fantastic race for Pedrosa.

See the race results after the break.

2009 MotoGP Race Report from Laguna Seca

1. Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 44min 1.580 sec
2. Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Team 44min 1.924 sec
3. Jorge Lorenzo Fiat Yamaha Team 44min 3.506 sec
4. Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Team 44min 14.012 sec
5. Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Team 44min 23.243 sec
6. Toni Elias San Carlo Honda Gresini 44min 23.621 sec
7. Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 3 44min 31.781 sec
8. Chris Vermeulen Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 44min 34.437 sec
9. Randy de Puniet LCR Honda MotoGP 44min 41.905 sec
10. Marco Melandri Hayate Racing Team 44min 49.608 sec
11. Alex de Angelis San Carlo Honda Gresini 44min 50.390 sec
12. Niccolo Canepa Pramac Racing 45min 20.111 sec

Gabor Talmacsi Scot Racing Team MotoGP
Loris Capirossi Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Team
Sete Gibernau Grupo Francisco Hernando

James Toseland Monster Yamaha Tech 3

Source: motogp via fasterandfaster

Philippe Daix
Philippe Daix
Obsessive and Compulsive Automotive Expert - phil@topspeed.com
Always on the lookout for the latest automotive news, Philippe Daix is our most senior editor and founder of TopSpeed.com. He likes to see himself as a consumer advocate with a mission to educate motorheads of all ages.  Read full bio
About the author
What do you think?
Show Comments


  (823) posted on 07.9.2009

From the start Pedrosa just overtake everyone and did well to keep the lead. Lorenzo almost crash by overtaking Rossi and it was great to see Nicky Hayden pushing hard to get top five with the Ducati 848 edition which look good it was a great round.smiley

Motorcycle Finder: