• Tyla Rattray wins MX2 class and Tommy Searle snatches victory in the super final

    Rattray, Simpson, Searle
  • Second pre-season victory for Rattray

Second pre-season victory for Rattray after Valence

Rattray, clearing in top form going into the 2008 season said he enjoyed the ride on the steep and unforgiving Shropshire circuit with its most famous obstacles, the deep ‘bomb hole’, the heart stopping whoop section and the ominous 1 in 3 “Hawkstone Hill”. “This is a very good circuit and I enjoyed the ride today. We had good sunny weather and it was great to get another pre-season victory,” the South African said.

Simpson from Team KTM UK wins first moto

Tyla Rattray wins MX2 class and Tommy Searle snatches victory in the super final
- image 235175

Shaun Simpson from the new Team KTM UK won the first moto with Rattray finishing fifth after getting tangled up in a scrap that also left teammate Searle back at sixteenth place. Simpson also went out fast in the second, only to be overtaken by the two KTM factory riders. Tyla then seized the advantage and crossed the line in front of Searle, a result that secured him the MX2 victory for the day. Simpson’s advantage slipped away after he stalled in the second moto and he finished half way back in the field.

Searle wins super final

Tyla Rattray wins MX2 class and Tommy Searle snatches victory in the super final
- image 235173

Tommy Searle’s moment of glory came at the end of the day when he won the super final where the MX2 riders had a start advantage on the MX1 competitors. Tyla did not have a perfect start and trailed Tommy who led throughout the race. Shaun Simpson was also up with the front runners but he was eventually overtaken by the bigger MX1 bikes.

Everts pleased with MX2 result

KTM’s MX team boss Stefan Everts said he was pleased with the overall performance of Rattray, Searle and Simpson, who between them dominated the MX2 section. Impressive also on the results sheets were the two young talents from the newly formed KTM-supported GP Juniors Team Champ Jeremy van Horebeek who was fourth and sixth in the two MX2 motos and Joel Roelants who was ninth and sixth in a field of some 30 riders on the grid.
KTM factor rider Max Nagl was a highly anticipated competitor in the MX1 class but unfortunately was not able to race on Sunday. Nagl woke in the early hours of Sunday morning with painful neck cramps and was unable to start. Dutchman Marc de Reuver scored a 3:1 result in the MX1 motos for victory in that class.

MX2 Results

  • 1. Tyla Rattray KTM
  • 2. Stephen Sword
  • 3. Erik Eggens


First MX2 Moto

  • 1. Shaun Simpson KTM UK
  • 2. Erik Eggens
  • 3. Stephen Sword
  • 4. Jeremy van Horebeek KTM
  • 5. Tyla Rattray KTM
  • 9. Joel Roelants KTM
  • 16. Tommy Searle KTM


Second MX2 Moto

1. Tyla Rattray KTM
2. Tommy Searle KTM
3. Stephen Sword
4. Erik Eggens
5. Joel Roelants KTM
6. Jeremy van Horebeek KTM
22. Shaun Simpson KTM UK

Winner of Super Final

Tommy Searle KTM

Source: KTM

What do you think?
Show Comments
Motorcycle Finder: