That Stretched, Custom Look In A Production Bike

The Honda designers targeted the outlaw chopper culture of the ’60s and ’70s, and managed to turn out a fairly faithful interpretation in the Fury, which is carried into 2019 though we lost its stablemate, the Stateline, from the lineup in 2017. The deep saddle and cut-down rear fender combined with the sweep of the fuel tank give it that stretched, custom look. For the American market, the 52-degree V-twin fits right in with a 1,312 cc engine that isn’t so big as to be intimidating. Join me as I critique Honda’s attempt to recapture our glory days.

Continue reading for my review of the Honda Stateline and Fury.

  • 2016 - 2018 Honda Fury / Stateline
  • Year:
    2016- 2018
  • Make:
  • Model:
  • Model:
  • Engine:
    V-Twin
  • Displacement:
    1312 cc
  • Price:
    10299
  • Price:

Honda Fury / Stateline Design

2016 - 2018 Honda Fury / Stateline
- image 795474
The designers went after the outlaw-chopper look that was so prevalent in the '60s and '70s and what they came up with is a fairly good interpretation.

More and more riders have come to appreciate the look associated with what I would call Classic Americana, and manufacturers around the world have responded in recent years to try to exploit this niche interest. This movement has actually been on, and gaining momentum, for a few years now, and we are starting to see some fairly bold designs from some of the big names. Honda had two such designs available for the 2016 model year.

First was the Stateline, the sole surviving member of the 1300 Custom Line having outlived its siblings, the Interstate and Sabre cruisers, though it met the same fate going into 2017. The Fury joined the Stateline as a sort of brother-from-another-mother with lots of shared DNA, but with a few critical differences, and it represents a very bold design concept indeed.

Historically, the overseas interpretation of the custom culture from back in the ’50s through the ’70s is, ahem, interesting to say the least. Sure, the old [Honda Rebel-mot2054] had a certain charm, but it was really a mish-mash of features that didn’t exactly target any specific era or bike (unlike the modern Rebel which seems a little more put together) and has come to have a place in the hearts of many.

Unfortunately, the Stateline sort of falls into this visual category. To my eyes, the parts don’t really match, which may explain why it was dropped. We have a full rear fender and deep-scoop solo saddle that is in keeping with certain old-school, cruiser styles, but then the swoopy gas tank, raked front end, and curved downtube veer sharply toward custom-chopper territory. The result; a confused collection of parts that doesn’t really do more than suggest at its collection of influences.

Ah, but the Fury, now that is another thing entirely. As I mentioned, the designers went after the outlaw-chopper look that was so prevalent in the ’60s and ’70s and what they came up with is a fairly good interpretation. A big, skinny, 21-inch front hoop and cut-down fender fit right in with the 32-degree rake of the forks. The upper lines flow across the same swoopy tank as the Stateline, but with one important distinction – it fits well with the rest of the bike; as does the deep saddle and cut-down rear fender.

An air-cooled V-twin completes the package, and at 52-degrees, the "V" angle doesn’t immediately scream import at a casual glance. Last but not least, Honda’s boldness really shines through in the stretch of the downtubes that couple with the rake for a truly custom look. Now, if I could just add a tombstone taillight and a coffin tank I think we would really have something. Oh, a slapshifter and a kickstarter would be nice, too.

Honda Fury / Stateline Chassis

2016 - 2018 Honda Fury / Stateline
- image 795471
A standard, yoke-style swingarm, the hidden rear shock, and frame geometry manages to pass on the suggestion of the old rigid frame lines.

As always, the frame dictates the direction of the overall look, and that’s certainly the case here. Both bikes boast double-downtube, double-cradle frames, and quite a bit of rake. The Fury carries a 32-degree rake and quite a bit of stretch, while the Stateline has distinctly curved downtubes and a 33-degree rake. Beyond that, both bikes carry their seats just below the 27-inch mark for a classic, low-slung look and feel that fits well with the rest of the bike.

In spite of the fact that both run a standard, yoke-style swingarm, the hidden rear shock, and frame geometry manages to pass on the suggestion of the old rigid frame lines. You might expect the trail numbers to be rather large with such radical front ends, but the 4.6-inch trail on the Stateline is fairly standard for a cruiser. I was really surprised to see only 3.6-inches on the Fury, but I guess looks can be deceiving after all.

The Stateline runs 41 mm, right-side-up forks that fit right in with the front wheel and fender, plus they provide 4 inches of wheel travel. A hidden monoshock supports the rear on 3.9 inches of travel. On the Fury, a set of beefy, 45 mm forks provide the same 4 inches of travel, but the rear monoshock only gives up 3.7 inches of travel. Not stellar, but within reason for sure.

Wide tires cap the 17-inch front rim and 15-inch rear, and contribute even more to the low-and-wide look of the Stateline. The Fury comes jacked up just a bit more with a 21-inch wheel up front and 18 in back, sizes that also add to the custom feel and radical panache.

Brakes are consistent across the board, with a 296 mm disc and single-pot caliper to bind the rear wheel, and a single, 336 mm disc and twin-pot caliper up front. At over 650 pounds, this is a lot of bike to try and control with a single front brake, so maybe the optional ABS isn’t such a bad idea on these rides.

Model:2019 Fury2016 Stateline
Front Suspension/Travel: 45 mm fork/ 4.0 inches travel 41 mm fork/ 4.0 inches travel
Rear Suspension/Travel: Single shock with adjustable rebound-damping and five-position spring-preload adjustability/ 3.7 inches travel Single shock/ 3.9 inches travel
Rake 32° (Caster Angle) 33° (Caster Angle)
Trail: 92 mm (3.6 inches) 118 mm (4.6 inches)
Front Brake: Single 336 mm disc with twin-piston caliper (ABS model w/ ABS and CBS) Single 336 mm disc with twin-piston caliper
Rear Brake: Single 296 mm disc with single-piston caliper (ABS model w/ ABS and CBS) 296 mm disc with single-piston caliper
Front Tire 90/90-21 140/80-17
Rear Tire: 200/50-18 170/80-15

Honda Fury / Stateline Drivetrain

2016 - 2018 Honda Fury / Stateline
- image 795477
Fuel economy isn't too awful bad for a 1,300+ cc engine and makes it suitable as a really bitchin' commuter bike.

Honda’s 1,312 cc mill powers these two rides with a 52-degree angle that’s pleasing to the eye, and doesn’t wreck the effect builders were going for. Blackout jugs house an 89.5 mm bore and 104.3 mm stroke with a common crankpin for that typical, V-twin cadence and torquey bottom end. I’ve got to say that the bike could look cooler without the radiator, but it certainly runs cooler with it, plus the water jacket helps attenuate some of the mechanical noise from the three-valve-per-head valvetrain. A computer-controlled, fuel injection system in the 38 mm throttle body maintains a proper stoichiometric ratio, and a digital ignition system manages the timing for the dual plugs in each head.

The Fury and the Stateline come geared for 45 mpg. This isn’t too awful bad for a 1,300+ cc engine and makes it suitable as a really bitchin’ commuter bike. A five-speed transmission and shaft drive send the power to the rear wheel, and as much as I prefer anything but a shaft drive, I have to admit they aren’t as undesirable as they were a few decades ago.

Model:2019 Fury2016 Stateline
Engine: 1,312 cc liquid-cooled 52 degrees V-twin 1,312 cc liquid-cooled 52° V-twin
Bore x Stroke: 89.5 mm x 104.3 mm 89.5 mm x 104.3 mm
Induction: PGM-FI with automatic enricher circuit, one 38 mm throttle body PGM-FI with automatic enrichment circuit, one 38 mm throttle body
Ignition: Digital with three-dimensional mapping, two spark plugs per cylinder Digital with 3-D mapping, two spark plugs per cylinder
Compression Ratio: 9.2:1 9.2:1
Valve Train: SOHC; three valves per cylinder SOHC; three valves per cylinder
Transmission: Five-speed Five-speed
Final Drive: Shaft Shaft

Honda Fury / Stateline Price

2016 - 2018 Honda Fury / Stateline
- image 795470
MSRP on the Fury is $10.6k without ABS and $11.5k with it.

Both the Stateline and Fury rolled for a base MSRP of $9,999 in 2016 with ABS as an available option for a smooth grand extra. Prices have gone up a little since then. For 2019, the Fury will set you back $10,599 without ABS or $11,449 with it, though I’m really diggin’ the Pearl Hawkseye Blue this year.

Model:2019 Fury2016 Stateline
Model ID: VT1300CX (ABS model: VT13CXA) VT1300CR
Warranty: Unlimited-mileage limited warranty; extended coverage available with a Honda Protection Plan. Transferable, unlimited-mileage limited warranty; extended coverage available with a Honda Protection Plan.
Colors:
2016: Matte Silver, Ultra Blue Metallic Blue Metallic
2017: Matte Black Metallic (ABS: Candy Red) -
2018: Chromosphere Red (ABS: Candy Red) -
2019: Pearl Hawkseye Blue
Price:
2016: $9,999 $9,999
2017: $10,299 (ABS: $11,299 -
2018: $10,449 (ABS: $11,449) -
2019: $10,599 (ABS: $11,449) -

Honda Fury / Stateline Competitor

2018 - 2019 Harley-Davidson Breakout
- image 729159
2016 - 2018 Honda Fury / Stateline
- image 795475
If looking good is good enough for you and name-dropping isn't your thing, I would say the Fury deserves a test ride, and soon.

Since the Fury looks more like something that came out of a chopshop than a production bike, I picked another bike with strong, custom undertones; the Softail Breakout from Harley. They both reach for the same sort of dated feel and wind up with similar looks, but not too similar.

Rake is cool, and the 32-degree angle on the Fury and 34-degree angle on the Breakout strike an unquestionably custom pose, but the stretch in the Fury frame really sets it apart. The Fury comes off looking a little cleaner, even though Harley chopped down the Breakout’s fenders, bobber style and kept the hang-on gear to a minimum.

Prices vary widely, and though some of it may be the usual name-pride H-D consistently demonstrates, at least some of it is due to the discrepancy in engine size. Honda runs a 1,312 cc mill in the Fury, but Harley stuffs a massive, 1,746 cc lump into the Breakout as standard with the optional 1,868 cc engine available. Folks, that’s a difference you can feel in your pants, unfortunately, you will feel it in your wallet as well.

The base Fury rolls for $10,599 and that’s a little more than half of the $19,049 sticker on the Breakout. Of course, H-D offers some fabulous-looking paint as usual, but you will have to skin that checkbook if you want anything but the basic, Vivid Black. That’s a lot of cheddar for a name and a few (hundred) extra cubes in the engine, so if looking good is good enough for you, I would say the Fury deserves a test ride, and soon.

He Said

“Man! I am really feeling the Fury. I realize that I may be in a small minority here, but I love a bit of stretch in the tubes, and that’s just icing on the cake. Not feeling the Stateline so much, but I recognize that looks are subjective to taste, and some folks may prefer a more docile custom look to the radical nature of the Fury. Whichever you prefer, price alone is enough reason for these two to be on your short list.”

She Said

My wife and fellow writer, Allyn Hinton, says, "I haven’t ridden a Fury since 2016, but my impression at the time was that there was a fair amount of vibration and it was surprisingly fast. Well maybe not ’surprisingly’, but I wasn’t expecting it to be as scrappy as it was. My complaint at the time was that the plastic instrument cluster came across as ’cheap’ and just lowered my perception of the overall fit and finish of the bike."

Honda Fury / Stateline Specifications

Model:2019 Fury2016 Stateline
Engine & Drivetrain:
Engine: 1,312 cc liquid-cooled 52 degrees V-twin 1,312 cc liquid-cooled 52° V-twin
Bore x Stroke: 89.5 mm x 104.3 mm 89.5 mm x 104.3 mm
Induction: PGM-FI with automatic enricher circuit, one 38 mm throttle body PGM-FI with automatic enrichment circuit, one 38 mm throttle body
Ignition: Digital with three-dimensional mapping, two spark plugs per cylinder Digital with 3-D mapping, two spark plugs per cylinder
Compression Ratio: 9.2:1 9.2:1
Valve Train: SOHC; three valves per cylinder SOHC; three valves per cylinder
Transmission: Five-speed Five-speed
Final Drive: Shaft Shaft
Chassis:
Front Suspension/Travel: 45 mm fork/ 4.0 inches travel 41 mm fork/ 4.0 inches travel
Rear Suspension/Travel: Single shock with adjustable rebound-damping and five-position spring-preload adjustability/ 3.7 inches travel Single shock/ 3.9 inches travel
Rake 32° (Caster Angle) 33° (Caster Angle)
Trail: 92 mm (3.6 inches) 118 mm (4.6 inches)
Front Brake: Single 336 mm disc with twin-piston caliper (ABS model w/ ABS and CBS) Single 336 mm disc with twin-piston caliper
Rear Brake: Single 296 mm disc with single-piston caliper (ABS model w/ ABS and CBS) 296 mm disc with single-piston caliper
Front Tire 90/90-21 140/80-17
Rear Tire: 200/50-18 170/80-15
Dimensions & Capacities:
Wheelbase: 71.2 inches 70.1 inches
Seat Height 26.9 inches 26.7 inches
Curb Weight: 663 pounds (ABS model: 681 lbs) 672 pounds
Fuel Capacity: 3.4 gallons 4.4 gallons
Miles Per Gallon: 45 mpg 45 mpg
Details:
Emissions: Meets current EPA standards. California version meets current California Air Resources Board (CARB) standards and may differ slightly due to emissions equipment. Meets current EPA standards. Models sold in California meet current California Air Resources Board (CARB) standards and may differ slightly due to emissions equipment.
Model Id: VT1300CX (ABS model: VT13CXA) VT1300CR
Warranty: Unlimited-mileage limited warranty; extended coverage available with a Honda Protection Plan. Transferable, unlimited-mileage limited warranty; extended coverage available with a Honda Protection Plan.
Colors:
2016: Matte Silver, Ultra Blue Metallic Blue Metallic
2017: Matte Black Metallic (ABS: Candy Red) -
2018: Chromosphere Red (ABS: Candy Red) -
2019: Pearl Hawkseye Blue
Price:
2016: $9,999 $9,999
2017: $10,299 (ABS: $11,299 -
2018: $10,449 (ABS: $11,449) -
2019: $10,599 (ABS: $11,449) -

Further Reading

Harley-Davidson Breakout

2018 - 2019 Harley-Davidson Breakout
- image 729159

See our review of the Harley-Davidson Breakout.

Honda Rebel

2017 - 2019 Honda Rebel 300 / Rebel 500
- image 794700

See our review of the Honda Rebel.

no article
- image 794666

Read more Honda news.

All images featured on this website are copyrighted to their respective rightful owners. No infringement is intended. Image Source: powersports.honda.com, harley-davidson.com

Press release
What do you think?
Show Comments
Motorcycle Finder: