Justin Wilson won his first race of the season in the Champ Car series at the Assen Grand Prix. The driver of RuSPORT team overtook the pole-sitter, Sebastien Bourdais,who finished on the 7th position due to a software glitch in the Power-to-Pass system that caused the pitlane speed limiter to kick in.

After Bourdais dropped on the 7th position, Jan Heylen became Wilson’s main rival but the driver of the Conquest team hadn’t a chance to overtake him. They were closely followed by the Bruno Junqueira driver of the Dale Coyne team.

Justin Wilson wins his first race of the season at Assen
- image 196100
Justin Wilson

The two PKV cars driven by Tristan Gommendy and Neel Jani finished the race on the fourth and fifth position. Simon Pagenaud, driver of the Team Australia finished the race on the 6th position in front of Sebastien Bourdais.

Graham Rahal , team mate of Sebastien Bourdais from Newman/Haas/Lanigan racing team finished on the ninth place. Rahal had a hard day at Assen, being overtaken by Forsythe Championship’s driver Oriol Servià. The top 10 was closed by Ryan Dalziel for his Pacific Coast Motorsports.

Justin Wilson wins his first race of the season at Assen
- image 196103
Bruno Junqueira

The local hero, Dutch driver Robert Doornbos obtained a disappointed 13th position. Doornbos was overtaken by his team mate from the Minardi Team USA who finished on the 11th position and Katherine Legge driver of the Dale Coyne racing team.

Will Power, Simon’s Pagenaud team mate obtained only the 14th position and behind him driver of the Rocketsports team, Alex Tagliani took the 15th place. The 16th position remained to Alex Figge for Pacific Coast Motorsports while Paul Tracy , driver Forsythe Championship team, took the same last place like in the qualifying session due to some problems with his monopost.

What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: