This year’s Prince Asturias sports award will be handed to the ex F1 champion Michael Schumacher. Altough Schumacher isn’t racing anymore this didn’t stopped the officials to name the German pilot the winner for the 2007 trophy.

The trophy will go to Schumacher due to the pilot’s sporting achievements: the German retired after he win seven F1 world championships but he was also involved in humanitarian and charitable work for the United Nations.

After Fernando Alonso and the Tour de France cycling legend Lance Armstrong, Schumacher will be given the trophy in October at a special ceremony in Oviedo.

What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: