Morgan-McClure Motorsports is owned by business partners Larry McClure and Tim Morgan. They began this partnership back in 1983 when they bought a race car from G.C. Spencer. The car made its debut at Talladega Superspeedway with Connie Saylor as official driver. Saylor didn’t do too much for the team at its debut because he finished 40th due to a engine failure. After this Saylor was replaced by Mark Martin who had one top 10 finish. Later, in 1984 the team began racing as the #4 car due to the new Folger sponsorhip. Tommy Ellis replaced Mark Martin and raced for the team twenty races that year. Lennie Pond and Joe Ruttman took he’s seat running the rest of the season. Ruttman obtained the best results for the team: one top-five finish and four top-ten.

Morgan-McClure Motorsports
- image 201155
scott wimmer

In 1986 the team received another sponsorship from Eastman Kodak and also a new driver, Rick Wilson. Wilson obtained a pole position at the Bristol Motor Speedway in 1988 but despite this in 1989 he made the announcement that he will leave the team.

In 1990 Phil Parsons was named the official driver of the team but after three races he was replaced by Ernie Irvan. In his first race Irvan started the race on the 30th position and finished 3rd and after two races he obtained the pole position at Bristol Motor Speedway. After the team switched from Oldsmobile to Chevrolet, Irvan won the Bristol Motor Speedway event. This was his first career victory but also the first victory for Morgan-McClure Motorsports. In the next season Irvan showed its true talent winning the Daytona 500 and The Bud at the Glen.After this Irvan won three more races: the Sears Point International Raceway, the Pepsi 400 at the Daytona International Speedway, and at Talladega Superspeedway.

Morgan-McClure Motorsports
- image 201156
#4 mcclure motorsports chevolet

In 1993 Irvan took two pole positions and won again at Talladega Superspeedway. When Davey Allison died in a plane crash Robert Yates asked Irvan to take his place but all this ensued into an ugly lawsuit with hurt feelings for both of the sides.

In 1994 Irvan was replaced by Sterling Marlin who won the Daytona 500 at his first race for the team,beating out, ironically, Irvan. In the next season he won again the Daytona 500 event as well as the Darlington Speedway and Talladega events. In 1996 Marlin won again at Talladega Superspeedway but also the Pepsi 400 at Daytona.

In 1997 Marlin didn’t win any race and was replaced by Bobby Hamilton who finished 10th at Martinsville Speedway. Due to his weak performances he was replaced by Robby Gordon but he was also released after five races. Mike Skinner and Kevin Lepage followed him at the team but they didn’t have much success.

Morgan-McClure Motorsports
- image 201157
larru mcclure

In 2003 the team switched from Chevrolet to Pontiac but they had to switch back to Chevrolet due to the fact that Pontiac retired from the Nascar Nextel Cup Series at the end of 2003.

Jimmy Spencer was named the official driver. The team introduced another car driven by McClure’s son Eric who finished 26th at Talladega Superspeedway.

In 2005 Morgan-McClure Motorsports received a new sponsorship from Lucas Oil with Mike Wallace as the official driver. He was quickly replaced due to his weak results with John Andretti, P. J. Jones, and Todd Bodine. In 2006 Scott Wimmer was named the official driver with new sponsorship from the Utah-based AERO Exhaust.

Morgan-McClure Motorsports
- image 201153
morgan-mcclure motorsports

Wimmer had no wins for the team and in October McClure announced that Wimmer will be replaced by Todd Bodine. He was also replaced due to lack of performances with Ward Burton, who at the time had not driven in Nascar Nextel Cup Series in several years. For the 2007 season the team announced that they will have a new sponsorship from State Water Heaters and that they will continue the partnership with Ward Burton.

What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: