• DTM sporting regulation

  • audi
  • audi2
  • merc
  • engine
  • start


Three engines for each team of two registered competitors are sealed, two weeks before the start of the season.If the seal is broken during the year, the teams are disqualified.Only V8 engines with a cylinder bank angle of 90 degrees and a maximum displacement of four litres and a maximum of four valves per cylinder are permitted in the DTM. The induction system must be fitted with two air restrictors each of a maximum 28 mm diameter.

DTM sporting regulation
- image 182803


A maximum number of 36 tyres ( 9 tyres per each wheel) per driver per event ( including the testing period ). The drivers have no limit for the number of rain tyres.


Standard Aral ultimate (official supplier: Aral).


Standing. Arranged in rows, which are staggered 1 x 1 and are eight metres apart.

DTM sporting regulation
- image 182807

The engine of the 2007 Audi A4 DTM
DTM features a standing start


Short roll-out and two 90-minute tests on Friday, 60-minute free training on Saturday morning, 30-minute warm-up on Sunday morning.


The previous format, consisting of a 30-minute qualifying session followed by the Super Pole that was contested by the top ten of the 30-minute session, will be replaced by the so-called shoot-out. The first 14-minute leg of the new qualifying session will be contested by the full 20-car field.

DTM sporting regulation
- image 182791

The 14 quickest qualify for the second leg while the six slowest cars have to enter the Parc Fermé. They will be 15th to 20th on the grid, according to the lap times they set. Following a seven-minute break, the 14 quickest will go out for their next efforts. This time, they have got just ten minutes to secure a top-eight position.

DTM sporting regulation
- image 182792

Those who don’t make it will be ninth to 13th on the grid. Following another seven-minute break, the top eight will battle it out for the pole position, with the quickest securing pole, the second qualifying for second grid position and so on. In every leg, the drivers may complete as many laps as they wish to do. The lap times set count only for the respective leg. The tyre sets for the qualifying are limited to five. Refuelling is allowed only following the first leg.

DTM sporting regulation
- image 182790

Race format

The drivers have to run approximately 160 kms with a standing start (2 p.m.) and two compulsory pit stops (re-fuelling and tyre change). The first compulsory pit stop may not be made before lap six.

Pit lane speed limit: Maximum 80 km/h (60 at the Norisring and in Zandvoort,).

Source: dtm

What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: