• Häkkinen wins the DTM race from Mugello

  • mercedes dtm
  • dtm mugello
  • mercedes benz dtm
  • audi a4 dtm
  • dtm audi a4

Mika Hakkinen amazed everyone at the DTM race from Mugello.The Finn won the race after an amazing run, recovering from 15th place to the most wanted 1st. This represented the second victory of the season for Hakkinen.

Mattias Ekstrom, the winner of the pole position a Mugello, finished the race on the second place with his Audi A4 DTM, being with 0.371 slower than Hakkinen. With these 8 points won in this race, Ekstrom took over the lead in the drivers classification.

Häkkinen wins the DTM race from Mugello
- image 186074
mercedes benz dtm

3rd place was obtained by Paul di Resta with his 2005 AMG Mercedes C-Class. He also made a great race recovering from 12th place directly on the podium.

For the Audi team the things didn’t go as planned.Altough five Audi cars started the race from the first five places on the starting grid, only the new leader of the championship,Mattias Ekstrom managed to materialize his favourable grid position. Tom Kristensen who started the race on the 2nd place dropped to 8th place.Martin Tomczyk and Timo Scheider who started from the 3rd and 4th places retired before finishing the race. The three Audi drivers Christian Abt, Mike Rockenfeller and Alexandre Prémat set their fastest sector times under a yellow flag and as a result they received a drive-through-penalty. Abt retired later after a collision.Rockenfeller finished on the 6th place and his teammate Premat on the 7th place.

Häkkinen wins the DTM race from Mugello
- image 186075
audi a4 dtm

Markus Winkelhock finished the race on the 9th place while the lady racer Mrs. Susie Stoddart (2005 TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Class) finished 10th ahead of Bernd Schneider (2007 Genuine Parts AMG Mercedes C-Class), who had a damaged car due to a collision without own fault right after the start.

Häkkinen wins the DTM race from Mugello
- image 186078
dtm audi a4

After six out of 10 races, Ekström took the overall lead with 32 points ahead of Bernd Schneider (25.5 points), Bruno Spengler, Paul di Resta (both with 22 points each) as well as Mika Häkkinen and Martin Tomczyk (both with 20 points each).

What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: