Volkswagen of America, Inc. scored the top spots in the High Performance Showroom Stock division at the 85th running of the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb (PPIHC) on Saturday, July 21, 2007.

Volkswagen entered two V10 TDI Touaregs and a V6 TDI Touareg, driven by professional drivers Ryan Arciero, Mike Miller and Chris Blais. Arciero put on a strong performance on his way to winning the division with a time of 13:17:703, setting a new division record for the fastest time with a diesel powered vehicle. Mark Miller finished closely behind with a time of 13:25:247, and Chris Blais took third with a time of 15:48:312.

Volkswagen makes good impression at the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb
- image 188464
vw touareg v10 tdi

Miller posted a very competitive time as well, just 7.544 seconds off the pace set by Arciero. Throughout practice and qualifying, the drivers were rarely separated by more than 0.5 seconds.

Touareg number three, driven by motorcycle racer, Chris Blais, suffered a mechanical set back early in the first practice session. The team rallied to help get Chris back on the mountain in a V6 TDI, and he was able to compete in his first ever four-wheeled vehicle race.

After the race at Pikes Peak the Vw Touareg will compete in the 2008 Dakar Rally.Vw created an all start team for the Dakar Rally which includes the two times World Rally Champion Carlos Sainz.

Source: vw

What do you think?
Show Comments
Car Finder: